Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


UPDATED:MILESTONE COMICS Celebrates It’s 20th Anniversary With a SDCC Reunion!

Twenty years ago, Dwayne McDuffie, Denys Cowan, Michael Davis and Derek T. Dingle started a revolution in comics with Milestone Media, creating a new comic book universe set in the fictional city of Dakota that focused on minority characters, criminally under-represented in mainstream comic books at that time.  Amazing artists and voices rose from Milestone including John Paul Leon, ChrisCross, Shawn Martinbrough, Tommy Lee Edwards, J.Scott.J, Matt Wayne, Prentis Rollins, J.H. Williams III, Humberto Ramos, John Rozum, Eric Battle, Joseph Illidge, Madeleine Blaustein, Jamal Igle, Chris Batista and Harvey Richards.  Perhaps too ahead of it’s time, Milestone didn’t last, but their characters including Shadow Cabinet, Icon and Rocket, Blood Syndicate, Hardware, Xombi and Static are still beloved by hundreds of thousands of fans today.

A decade ago when I started the first incarnation of this site, I was put in touch with Charlotte Fullerton, a talented writer who writes for every cartoon you’ve enjoyed in recent memory.  Unfortunately, she couldn’t contribute, but we remained “internet” friends in the crazy way that social media allows.  Charlotte was married to Dwayne McDuffie, who passed away the same day as my father a few years ago.  The difference is my father had been sick for some time and was 82.  Dwayne deserved many, many more years.

I couldn’t have been prouder when Charlotte asked me last week if I would share news about The 20th Anniversary of Milestone Comics panel that’s taking place at San Diego Comic Con on Friday, July 19th. 

If you’re going to San Diego and you’re one of the few people who are still going because you love comics, treat yourself to seeing and meeting these talented people.  Full details after the jump.


The 20th Anniversary Reunion of Milestone Comics
Featuring Milestone artists, writers, and editors will be moderated by Django Unchained producer, Reginald Hudlin!  Confirmed participants include the surviving Co-Founders of Milestone, Denys Cowan, Derek Dingle, and Michael Davis plus Matt Wayne, Arvell Jones, Jason Scott Jones and Joe James

This once-in-a-lifetime event will occur  Friday July 19, 2013 from 11:30am-12:30pm in Room 5AB
Group Signing session info to be posted soon on the official SDCC website.
Bring your Milestone books & complete your autograph collection!

“You don’t start none, there won’t be none.”
Static #1 (1993)
20 years ago, THEY started some.

Happy 20th Anniversary to Milestone!
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


DC Comics has cut its ties with Diamond Comics Distributors. In an email sent to comics retailers from the major publisher, the company revealed...


Written by Paolo Baron Art by Ernesto Carbonetti Published by Image Comics   I’ve read quite a number of Beatles-related comics and graphic novels...


Written and Illustrated by Charles Forsman Published by Fantagraphics Books   I read this awhile back and quite enjoyed it, and I reread it...


Written by Simon Spurrier  Art by Aaron Campbell Published by DC Comics   John Constantine Is back just how I like him. Nasty, dark,...

%d bloggers like this: