Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


The Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity Announces It’s Inaugural Winner

Nilah Magruder’s Web Comic, M.F.K. Becomes The Award’s First Recipient

Nilah Magruder’s web comic, M.F.K. became the first-ever recipient of the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity, presented at Long Beach Comics Expo.

“Nilah Magruder’s M.F.K. is a great read,” said Matt Wayne, the Director of the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity. “Nilah created an incredibly engaging post-apocalyptic fantasy world peopled with a broad array of characters. In terms of both excellence and inclusiveness, this is just the sort of comic the Award was created for.”

The Award is named after Dwayne McDuffie, the influential comics and animation writer who passed away in 2011 and who was known for creating superhero properties for Marvel and DC comics that included diverse casts of characters.

The Award was presented to Magruder by Charlotte McDuffie, Dwayne McDuffie’s widow. The keynote address was given by writer-director-producer Reginald Hudlin.

“This award isn’t about honoring Dwayne,” Wayne said. “Dwayne wouldn’t have stood for that. The Selection Committee had to choose between five worthy nominees, and those works and their creators are what we celebrate today.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


Written by Declan Shalvey Art by Gavin Fullerton Published by Image Comics   Who would have thought that artist Declan Shalvey would end up...


Skybound Entertainment has announced Skybound Xpo, an online, two-day festival celebrating the company’s creators across comics, video games, and more. While fans and creators...


In the year 2008, the cops are better armed than before, but nothing has prepared them for this. Swift, sharp-clawed and deadly, something moves...


Are you ready for the Elephantmen documentary? It’s coming your way—in Season 3 of the acclaimed comic book series written by Richard Starkings, with...