Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


The 2019 Dwayne McDuffie Award Submissions Are Open!

The motto of The Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics comes from Dwayne’s own words, “From invisible to inevitable.”

This year marks the fifth annual award that spotlights five finalists commitment to excellence and inclusion both in their work and within the industry, following Dwayne’s example. Previous winners have included Leon: Protector of the Playground, written and illustrated by Jamar Nicholas, Upgrade Soul, written and illustrated by Ezra Claytan Daniels, Ms. Marvel, by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona and M.F.K. by Nilah Magruder.

Dwayne McDuffie photographed by Seth Kushner

“Excellence and inclusiveness. Dwayne held his own work to this dual high standard and accepted no less from others. Our past winners and nominees all continue to make me proud to have their names and careers forever associated with my late husband’s legacy. I eagerly look forward in this 5th submission season to hearing from an even more varied chorus of creative voices ready to share their own outstanding visions with our world,” said Dwayne’s widow, Charlotte McDuffie.

“I wish Dwayne was still with us,” said awards administrator Will J. Watkins. “His voice is sorely missed, especially now. As we go into the 5th year of this award, its significance and impact is more important than ever. I’m excited we can again open the door a bit wider for more diverse creators to have their voices heard.”

As I reflect on the course of the DWAYNE McDUFFIE AWARD for DIVERSITY, I’m immensely proud of the way the larger community has accepted and embraced the mission. It’s been a tumultuous five-year period in the industry, and to be a small part of a movement for change and acceptance for all creators has been rewarding, to say the least,” said Martha Donato, President & Founder of MAD Event Management LLC, producers of Long Beach Comic Expo and C3. “I’m grateful to Charlotte [McDuffie] for including me in the award program and look forward to watching its evolution over time. I firmly believe Dwayne’s legacy is secure in her capable hands. For the nominees and winners of the Award past and future, you exemplify all that he stood for and believed in.”

“Dwayne McDuffie was a friend to me both personally and artistically for over a decade. He gave me my first job writing in animation,” said Geoffrey Thorne. “This award serves as an ongoing ambassador of his worldview (and mine.). Everybody who can play should get to play. I’m humbled to have been asked to judge this award that honors his legacy.”

This year’s judges are:


  • Cheryl Lynn Eaton is a pop-culture commentator and writer of comics. Her creative work can be found at publishers such as Image Comics, DC Comics, and Humanoids. Links to her non-fiction work are available at


  • Jennifer de Guzman is a freelance editor, comic book marketer and veteran of the comics industry. She was formerly editor-in-chief at SLG Publishing, a regular columnist for Publishers Weekly, Director of PR and Marketing and Director of Book Sales for Image Comics. Her writing has appeared in the anthologies, Womanthology: Space, This Is a Souvenir, and, Put the Book Back on the Shelf.


  • Joan Hilty is Comics Editor at Nickelodeon and editor-in-chief of Pageturner, a boutique comics/graphic novel production house. She was formerly a Senior Editor at DC/Vertigo and syndicated cartoonist. She teaches at the School of Visual Arts in NYC and co-chairs comics programming for Brooklyn Book Festival and Miami Book Fair.


  • Jamal Igle is the writer/artist/Creator of Molly Danger for Action Lab Entertainment and the penciller of the critically acclaimed series, BLACK from Black Mask Studios, as well as many titles for DC, Marvel and Dark Horse. He’s been a storyboard artist for Sony Animation and is also a popular guest lecturer on the subjects of comics and animation.


  • Mikki Kendall is a writer and editor whose work has appeared in Swords of Sorrow (Dynamite), Bitch Planet (Image), Spitball 2 (Columbus College of Art and Design), and the Princeless Charity Anthology (Action Lab). Her non-fiction work has appeared in outlets including the Boston Globe, the Washington Post, and Time. Her books Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists: A Graphic History of Women’s Fight For their Rights and Hood Feminism will be published by Penguin Random House in 2019 and 2020.


  • Heidi MacDonald is the editor-in-chief of and a former editor for Disney and DC Comics. She can be heard on Publishers Weekly’s weekly podcast More To Come and the Beat podcast Three Women in a Hotel Room.


  • Kevin Rubio is a writer/producer who has contributed to Justice League Action, Avengers Assemble,Thunderbirds Are Go!, Green Lantern: The Animated Series and My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic. He is also the creator and writer of the Star Wars graphic novel, Tag & Bink Were Here and Red 5 Publication’s Abyss Vol. I & II. He is an inaugural recipient of the George Lucas Film Award for his Star Wars short film, TROOPS, a Promax Award winner, and Emmy nominee.


  • Geoffrey Thorne is the writer/Creator of MOSAIC for Marvel Comics, PRODIGAL for Genre 19 and JOURNEYMEN for Dark Horse Comics. He is also the head writer and Showrunner of Marvel’s Avengers Black Panther’s Quest as well as a writer-producer on such hit series as LEVERAGE, LAW & ORDER: CRIMINAL INTENT and THE LIBRARIANS.


  • Will J. Watkins (Director of the DWAYNE McDUFFIE AWARD for DIVERSITY in COMICS) is a freelance film and animation writer who is also comic book story/world-building consultant on The Protectors graphic novel published by Athlita Comics. He had a stint as an assistant editor at DC Comics and before moving to L.A. he owned Chicago’s first African American-owned comics store. Most recently he was writer’s assistant on Facebook Watch’s SORRY FOR YOUR LOSS.


The deadline for completed submissions to be received at [email protected] for the 2019 DWAYNE McDUFFIE AWARD for DIVERSITY in COMICS is December 31, 2018.

Visit the portal to get started. Please complete all fields fully and consider your answers before clicking Submit.

Examples of the prospective award recipient’s work should be sent in an email to [email protected] with McDuffie Award Submission in the subject line.

Please attach a link or a 15mb PDF file of the work to be considered. When submitting work, we strongly suggest sending the first issue of a series. If submitting anything other than the first issue, a one-page synopsis of what came before must accompany the submission.

Also, we suggest sending the first 25-30 pages or first chapter of a graphic novel. We cannot guarantee anything more will be considered. If one is available, please also attach a JPG photo of the entrant to the email. Please do not include any further attachments. Submissions will be accepted until December 31, 2018.

The winner will be announced at a reception to be held on February 15, 2019 in Long Beach, CA during the Long Beach Comic Expo and C3: Comic Creator Conference.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


Today, DC FanDome released a teaser revealing literally hundreds of names of participants of the first DC FanDome.  Take a look at this amazing...


Just when you thought it was safe to take a dip in the water again… the underwater unfriendlies bite back! This summer, Shout! Factory...


Written by Sholley Fisch  Art by Marcelo DiChiara Published by DC Comics   Let me start off by saying that this isn’t something that...


Good Deed Entertainment and Kino Lorber are proud to announce the release of Sasie Sealy’s Lucky Grandma, available on Blu-ray and DVD August 11....